Storing sleds in trailer, tips??

toddszr600

So I got my first enclosed trailer(tilting clamshell) and one of the reasons was I wanted the sleds out of my garage. So its my first time storing the sleds like this and Im looking for tips.

Ive got my mothballs and a little steelwool to try and keep the critters out and Im on the lookout for some dessicant packs to suck up moisture. Anything else??, I assume its going to get a little warm in there(black trailer), its just going to be at the back of my property for the summer.

Cheers, Todd

So I got my first enclosed trailer(tilting clamshell) and one of the reasons was I wanted the sleds out of my garage. So its my first time storing the sleds like this and Im looking for tips.

Ive got my mothballs and a little steelwool to try and keep the critters out and Im on the lookout for some dessicant packs to suck up moisture. Anything else??, I assume its going to get a little warm in there(black trailer), its just going to be at the back of my property for the summer.

Cheers, Todd

Does your trailer have venting. If not I suggest you put some on. A small one on each side will do it. It will indeed get hot inside and you will have a fair bit of condensation at times. I would suggest you put lightweight covers on your sleds as well. I haven't found a trailer yet that the front access door doesn't leak and that is right over the hood of the sled. The cover will stop the condensation you get on the inside of the cover from dropping on the sled or any rain coming through the front door leaks. I also use sled jacks to lift the track off of the bed.

I don't know that it is true for sure but have often been told the acids in grass are not good for the tires. The suggestions I have been given are to either put a patio slab or piece of wood under each of the tires or jack and block the trailer so the tires are off the ground. The second would help with flat spots on the tires.