One more kick at the can

Pota

I figure ill give this one more try. Is it worth while riding from Whitney to pembroke on the b trail. I have one day off of work this week and am considering this route for Tuesday . I still see it showing green on ofsc map. Anyone ride this trail recently? Any input would be appreciated.

I say give it a go and let us know how the trails are. I drove by the B trail in Pembroke on Friday and was surprised at how good it looked. The roughest section on that trip would likely be the road running as you near Round Lake Rd.

We've got enough base left to have tolerated the rain yesterday in Hearst, it's snowing like crazy tonight. Prolly 4 inches once it's done. Can't vouch for anywhere South of here, but I can't imagine the Plus temps over the last few days being very good for the trail conditions. We lost about 1/4 of our snowbanks this week and weekend.

(I am just learning how to upload photographs, so I may have mixed up the order of the pictures.)

I sledded from Whitney to Madawaska and back on Friday, after calling ahead Friday morning and being told conditions were green. I was told I could unload at the Mad Musher on Highway 60 in Whitney, but the start of the trail looked like the picture showing a hundred yards of mud. I was very disappointed, having driven two hours to get to the site.

I walked a couple of hundred yards up the trail and realized there was some improvement, so I unloaded on Nipissing Road about two hundred yards north of Highway 60.

I sledded to Madawaska, which was about 18 miles. I decided to turn around because as I entered Madawaska I encountered terrible conditions as shown in the picture with the small bridge:

In the 18 miles between Whitney and Madawaska, the best conditions were like the picture showing predominantly snow covered trail, and a person could move along at a good speed: