Kirkland lake is in trouble.

Viperules700

Just heard on the news there is a huge forest fire just 3km north of town. Hopefully they can control it before it ruins the town.

Just heard on the news there is a huge forest fire just 3km north of town. Hopefully they can control it before it ruins the town.

Here's more info, on an Ontario-wide basis. 28,000 hectares are burning. Fingers crossed for Kirkland Lake and all communities affected.

http://www.sootoday...._medium=twitter

I saw some pics the other day on a hunter forum from KL the other day. The fires were near Goodnight & Nettie lakes. He said the fires had shifted & were heading away from town.

MCTV also had footage on Mon' of a closure of 101 & 144 west of Timmins. Apparently there is a fire between Timmns & Gogama.

There's an eerie feeling when trails cut through these areas, in the season(s) after a fire.

I'm no expert, but isn't this early for fires of this magnitude? It may get hotter and drier as the summer progresses. Let's hope adequate resources are provided for these communities in Northern Ontario.

not to take away from the seriousness of these fires,but does anyone remember a may as hot and dry as this one....im afraid what may be in store here for next winter.......?????i cant stomach another mild winter......i wish the people up north well wishes,and best of luck with these fires

not to take away from the seriousness of these fires,but does anyone remember a may as hot and dry as this one....im afraid what may be in store here for next winter.......?????i cant stomach another mild winter......i wish the

people up north well wishes,and best of luck

with these fires

I sure hope they get rain. I can remember warm springs in the past. I don't recall having a low snow winter, then warm temps in march, April and may followed by about only one third of

normal rainfall for the past three months. A hot

summer could help snowfalls around the great