Ice Bridge - Probability

Gasgeber

Hallo,

I am new to Snowmobiling (from Germany, visiting a friend in Michigan this year). I was wondering a couple things and I hope someone can help a little;)

Do you think the ice bridge could open until Mid-February between Drummond Island and St. Joseph Island? It is hard to find information about the status, about the only status I found was on algomatrails.com, but not very helpful at the end.

I was also wondering about the Ontario district 12 and 13 trails. Do you think - as a probablitity - a ride from either drummond island or sault ste marie (depending on the ice bridge) to elliot lake to killaerny to sudbary and back by snowmobile (several days) will be possible? I am just wondering, because it looks pretty irregular how the trails are opening (if at all). In Michigan as contrary it sounds more like "all trails more fair to good/excellent ridable", in Ontario it is more like "almost all are closed". How comes this difference?

And my last question (for now): If the ice bridge will not be open until mid February, is is possible to travel from US to Canada in Sault Ste Marie via Snowmobile? If not, how do I get from trail to trail without trailer?

I thank for every help in forward, Greetings

Timo

Timo,

I've ridden this area for a number of years now and I'll give you my OPINION only.

Yes, I think the ice bridge will open by mid February. Watch the Algoma site for status and believe what they say! Don't ride until it's staked! Way to confusing out there on the "big ice" to navigate. Snow squalls can make it deadly if you get off the marked crossing. Also you can call Hilton Beach Restaurant. They're right on St Joe Is. They'll know.