Slowing Down when Passing Stopped Sleds - Not happening Much Anymore?

Gadgetman

I've been sledding ON since 1998, and we as a group always slow down when passing stopped sleds, either direction. To me, it seems that when we are stopped, other sleds slowing down when passing us has decreased each year, to the point that this year in my local area (D1) no one slows down while passing us when I'm stopped.

As Lead sled I set the pace, so I slow us down when passing stopped sleds.

Actually, we slow down when approaching oncoming sleds, even on straight stretches, which also seems to be decreasing (closing at 100km\hr will always have risk).

So, my question to all of the "Leads", isn't it much safer if all Lead sleds slow your group down when passing stopped sleds?

Edited by Gadgetman
  • Like 7

Always slow down and ask if everything Ok. 

• Like 2

@Gadgetman Met a group of 4 a couple of weeks ago on the railbed south of Bancroft that were running nose to tail. W/ all the snow dust I doubt the last rider even saw me on the trail...

It didn't appear that any of them slowed down seeing an oncoming sled.

No wonder you have chain reaction accidents where the following sleds pole into the initial crashed sleds.

Later the same day I stopped to take some pics. Three sleds caught up to me & the lead rider slowed down to ask if O was OK. I gave him the :right_on: . He nodded & continued on.

• Like 2

Slow down here, usually give a thumbs ups and look for one in return that all okay.

On this same topic as stopping on the side of the trail, on the flip side, how about those that pick the most inappropriate spot to stop, and without a mechanical issue......same thing, just a complete lack of thought.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, stoney said:

Slow down here, usually give a thumbs ups and look for one in return that all okay.