Parry Sound - Near Nobel & Carling Bay

Kym

I am heading up to Parry Sound on February 25 to head out to the cottage on the island. Never been there in the winter. Cottage is on Huckleberry Island (north side). Closest marina is Harrison's landing marina. Need to head from the mainland at Harrison's (just off Carling Bay Road), out to Goat and Graves Island, then directly across to Huckleberry (not far from Dent's Bay and Girl's Camp Bay - well, north side of Huckleberry anyway).

So I am new to this snowmobile thing - just bought one, and I am scared shitless to take it across the ice, and I can't find a single shred of information on the internet about ice safety in this area. The best I can get is ice conditions on Georgian Bay (not Parry Sound).

So - does anyone know this area, and can they comment on whether or not it would be safe to go from Harrison's to Huckleberry next weekend?

I am heading up to Parry Sound on February 25 to head out to the cottage on the island. Never been there in the winter. Cottage is on Huckleberry Island (north side). Closest marina is Harrison's landing marina. Need to head from the mainland at Harrison's (just off Carling Bay Road), out to Goat and Graves Island, then directly across to Huckleberry (not far from Dent's Bay and Girl's Camp Bay - well, north side of Huckleberry anyway).

So I am new to this snowmobile thing - just bought one, and I am scared shitless to take it across the ice, and I can't find a single shred of information on the internet about ice safety in this area. The best I can get is ice conditions on Georgian Bay (not Parry Sound).

So - does anyone know this area, and can they comment on whether or not it would be safe to go from Harrison's to Huckleberry next weekend?

I strongly recomend talking to Gord Harrison at the marina he will know.

Kym;