cooper exhaust donuts for yamaha apex

Dufftom

Hi guys and gals newbie to this site.I am thinking of changing my exhaust donuts on my 08 apex,is it the way to go,and do i need to go stainless pipes as well,or stay with the stock donuts.Any input would be great,Thanks.

welcome to the forum. i have copper exhaust donuts on my 06 apex. i'm not an expert so I can't really comment on them. my mechanic told me to use them so i just listened to him.

Did you go stainless pipes or,and was it as easy as just taking the old ones out and putting the new ones back in.I hear that you need to use some kind of seal as well.

There is a great how to post over on Totally Yamaha, believe there is a link to that website from this one. There are also a few debates regarding using the copper donuts which may be if interest to you.

Here is the step by step posted on the Totalyamaha site lots of stuff there.

http://www.ty4stroke.com/viewtopic.php?t=52520

I changed the pipes in my 06 Apex because one cracked with over 10,000km on it.The other 06 Apex is still good with 8000 km on it.I didnt change my 08 Apex yet because there is only 3500 km on it and they are still good.

My 08 has just over 6000 km on it,donuts are still good,no back firing or loss of power.Bought 2 sets of copper donuts last year off a friend that has them in his 06.Why two sets,wife drives an apex also.Just don't know if i should go to all that work and have them fail,because of what i am hearing.I was told to check or change around 5 to 6000 km.

I check all three of my Apexs every year to be sure they are not going.Its not that big of a job to check them. Maybe one hour per sled.